Shaving

Hamish Lindop
1 min readJan 11, 2023

--

from Wikimedia Commons

Shaving off my attachment to my aversion for my son’s voice aiming to irritate me by saying “nya nya nya nya nya you can’t get me” over and over

Shaving off my attachment for having my own way

Shaving off my attachment to your approval and “claps” as you read this

Shaving off my attachment to cleverness as a prop for self worth

Shaving off the idea of a seperate self

Shaving off my aversion to fear and uncertainty as I head back to work after a concussion

Shaving off my attachment to attraction to beautiful women

Shaving off ideas of being and not-being

Shaving off my attachment to the hope that these attachments will never grow back, and the hope of perfect enlightenment

Shaving off my fear of future pain and loss

Shaving off so many more things than I could list here

After all that shaving off,

what is left?

--

--

Hamish Lindop

Sharing insights from community building and social innovation, and reflections on ways of (well) being